bill of rights

The Bill of Rights includes the first 10 amendments to the U.S. Constitution.

  • Amendment I – Freedom of religion, speech, the press, assembly, to petition the government
  • Amendment II – Right to bear arms
  • Amendment III – Quartering of troops
  • Amendment IV – Right to privacy, protection from illegal search and seizures
  • Amendment V – Due process, rights against self-incrimination, double-jeopardy
  • Amendment VI – Rights of criminal defendants
  • Amendment VII – Rights in civil cases
  • Amendment VIII – Excessive, cruel and unusual punishments
  • Amendment IX – non-enumerated rights
  • Amendment X – powers not enumerated to the Federal Government are reserved to the states or the people
Back to top button