License Plate Law Changes: Drivers Will Keep Tags When Selling Car
Oklahoma drivers, brace yourselves for a change.
There’s a new law in town that goes into effect July 1st, and it deals with license plates. 42 other states already have this regulation in place, and Oklahoma legislators say it’s high time the state joins in. Supporters of the new bill say this measure could raise about $40 million in extra funding for Oklahoma.
The extra funds would go to another project aimed at raising the salaries of teachers. Authorities also love the fact that it will be easier to do a license plate lookup with this law in place. But what is this new law that has some Oklahoman’s scratching their heads? Let’s dig a little deeper to find out.
What is the New Oklahoma License Plate Law?
The new law states that when selling a vehicle, drivers must keep their license plates instead of including it in the sale. When buying a new car, you need to take the tag from your old vehicle and put in on the new one.
Let’s go into more detail:
- For instance, when you buy a car from the dealership, it will come with a paper tag. You now have 30 days to register the vehicle after the sale to avoid any penalties. Upon registering the car, you’ll have the option to either place your old tag on the automobile or buy a new one. You can purchase tags from the Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC) or any local tag agent.
- Purchasing a vehicle from an individual or a used car lot is a different story. If you don’t have the tag of your old car, you can drive the vehicle for five days without a plate. You must have a copy of the bill of sale or assigned title in the vehicle during this period. If you have a tag from your old vehicle, you can place it on your current automobile only after you have it registered and titled. You have 30 days to comply or face penalties.
Under the new law, Oklahoma drivers must now carry their annual certificates of registration at all times. Officials issue a COR for new vehicles and annually when the owner renews the car’s registration.
The Authorities Weigh-In
Authorities and lawmakers supporting the new bill are confident of the law’s impact on law enforcement. Officials say that this measure will make it easier for police and toll agencies to keep tabs on who owns what vehicle. During investigations, it will now be easier to do a license plate lookup to see who the real owner of a car is.
OTC spokesperson Paula Ross stated that starting July, anyone selling a car must remove and keep the tags. License plates now stay with the owner, not the vehicle. When people buy a new car, they need to take the tag from their old car and install it in the new one.
Aside from assisting law enforcement in tracking down vehicle owners, the new law has other benefits. The bill can cut down on past car owners not paying their parking tickets or turnpike fines and even catch up with them and demand payment.
Reasons for the New Law
One of the main reasons why Oklahoma implemented this new law is that 42 other states are already doing it. These states have reported extra revenue in the tens of millions of dollars. Errant drivers are now fined more efficiently, and the state can cash in on motorists who fail to register their vehicles on time.
The main culprit that’s costing Oklahoma millions of dollars is the expiring tag on a new car. Plenty of people wait until the vehicle tag expires before paying taxes and registering the vehicle. Lawmakers were also looking to protect the consumer with the new bill.
Consumers who sell their old cars won’t get the blame anymore. If the person who buys their vehicle runs a toll gate, commits a felony hit and run, or gets involved in an accident, the seller stays protected. By assigning license plates to drivers instead of cars, Oklahoma could rake in an estimated $35 to $40 million a year. This extra revenue will come from people who have been gaming and cheating the system for years.
This is a great news for the people from Oklahoma. Thanks for sharing the articles.